UdderFest: Raw Milk project

hollowlegs Yeah,it’s just drinking milk that makes me queasy.Love all other dairy products

MathildeCuisine Can’t stand cold milk in my cereals either

BribedwithFood *gags*

This recent exchange about milk with chums on twitter got me thinking that milk is rather unloved. As I said in my visit to Chris Hall in Cornwall for Channel 4, ‘milk’s still thought of as something for children. As an adult it’s simply there for wetting cereal or diluting tea or coffee, the ever-present, ever-the-same white stuff in the fridge’  And so I think it’s time to get a gaggle of doubting Thomas’ together, get out of the smoke and get our heads under a cow for some proper raw milk.

I’m trying to find not only raw milk to taste, but raw milk from different animals. Just how much do Guernsey and Jersey differ from Holstein ? Also we’d want to try sheep’s milk and goat, just to get a comparison.

LOCATION: TBC

DATE: TBC

So as you can see it’s in the early stages of development. However if anyone fancies coming along let me know.

Spot the raw milk..?

11 Responses to “UdderFest: Raw Milk project”


  1. 1 Carla July 13, 2010 at 9:06 am

    I’m never one for declining a new challenge, but I warn you there really IS something about milk and nausea…

  2. 2 Lizzie July 13, 2010 at 9:07 am

    I am a bit scared. But up for the challenge.

  3. 3 eyedropper July 13, 2010 at 9:12 am

    It’s only milk, not Japanese blowfish!

  4. 4 Chris July 13, 2010 at 9:19 am

    I’ll come! Will there also be cheese?

  5. 5 webb July 13, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    @Chris
    Yes I’m hoping so. I’ve an idea for a venue, that’s an hour out of London by train. I think it’s important to get out heads under the cow… Honestly..

  6. 6 Helen July 16, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    I am coming. Obviously 🙂

  7. 7 Helen July 16, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Oops I meant to say that Chris’ parents have a neighbour who gives them fresh milk. Sometimes a little warm. It’s the creamiest most gorgeous milk ever.

  8. 8 Douglas August 4, 2010 at 10:21 am

    Any update on how the project’s progressing?

  9. 9 Sam Hill August 5, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Hi

    If this hasn’t happened yet I would love to come. I also love milk.

    Sam

  10. 10 eyedropper August 8, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    @Douglas

    Not an inch since posting this.. However with a clearing schedule in the offing, I’m on it.

    I was thinking of us all going here.
    http://www.thegoodsshed.net/

  11. 11 Karen August 26, 2010 at 7:40 am

    Sounds interesting – confess that despite having written at least two pieces on my blog about raw milk, one on a producer, one a debate, I still have to make myself down a glassful, need to be really cold and really creamy to actually enjoy it. Might find straight out of the udder (warm, frothy…) challenging, shall we say! But definitely interested…

    Here are the blog posts, if you’re interested.
    http://acookslibrary.com/2010/07/25/the-raw-milk-debate/
    http://acookslibrary.com/2010/06/06/the-raw-milk-round-2/


Comments are currently closed.



This blog is no longer being updated

I've left it here for historical purposes. Please visit my new blog at www.foodjournalist.co.uk

DISCLAIMER

These are my personal views and not those of Channel 4 or the BBC
July 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

