my ‘on the way to work’ free stuff haul

my ‘on the way to work’ free stuff haul

Originally uploaded by eyedropper.co.uk.

Exiting Victoria Station and walking along Victoria Street in the morning is beginning to resemble the bit in Airplane when Kramer (wrong week to quite smoking) enters the terminal to be accosted by various religious groups and people trying to give him stuff which he beats out of the way.

For example, today I got a fortune cookie in which I could win a flight to Hong Kong, a flyer for the new Michael Moore film by a girl dressed as a nurse who said ‘call in sick’ when she gave it too me. And a new men’s mag thing by, erm, a guy in a cap, that I only took because it’s got heroes on the cover.

There was also a giant Miami Dolphins NFL player in the station itself, but I wasn’t entirely sure what they were marketing… trips to Florida maybe?

2 Responses to “my ‘on the way to work’ free stuff haul”


  1. 1 Alan Connor October 25, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    Ha! I think of this scene every time I enter London Bridge station at an uncivilised hour. It starts with City AM, moves onto porridge, and by the time I’m getting to the turnstiles I can vividly picture the full haymakers Kramer delivers to the religious consciousness church.

  2. 2 Chris October 25, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    I think the Miami Dolphins are over on some sort of publicity tour. The reason nobody knows this is because nobody cares about American Football in this country!

    And I well remember my commute to Victoria when I worked there. Do they still have a free london paper person every 5 yards?


Leave a Reply

This blog is no longer being updated

I've left it here for historical purposes. Please visit my new blog at www.foodjournalist.co.uk

DISCLAIMER

These are my personal views and not those of Channel 4 or the BBC
October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

