Big Brother Eye Logo.

There have been a few comments in the Channel 4 feedback log questioning whether the Big Brother eye design is in anyway influenced by or an homage to Madeline McCann’s eye condition.



This years BB logo was designed months ago as far as I know, the master version I’ve got has a created and modified date of 13th April 2007, Madeline went missing on the 3rd May.

I remember seeing designs for it as far back as January and if anything I think the designers were aiming for more of a futuristic test card feel with colour and gradations of tone (though the test card is a BBC thing). You can see this if you look at the animated version.


So the short answer is no, it’s just coincidence.

Surely this is nothing more than the human ability to see patterns and relationships in things and to make imaginative leaps in context. It probably came in useful on the Plains of Africa for distinguishing lions from the grass. However we now no longer need that skill much, so we now use the ability to make wild speculation that comes with the silly season that is BB.

4 Responses to “Big Brother Eye Logo.”


  1. 1 Boy George June 4, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    Oh wait. Yes, I have. I’m sorry, but I just don’t have it in me right now to type it all out again. Besides, it was just ramblings anyway. You didn’t want to hear me go on and on about this, right?

  2. 2 viv July 16, 2007 at 1:27 am

    Come off it! Just a coincidence? Really? Look into my eyes!

  3. 3 huh? December 8, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    but the big brother eye doesnt look like maddies :l

  4. 4 Smelly March 16, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    omd. come on people dont be so sad its just a eye !!!


Leave a Reply

This blog is no longer being updated

I've left it here for historical purposes. Please visit my new blog at www.foodjournalist.co.uk

DISCLAIMER

These are my personal views and not those of Channel 4 or the BBC
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

