user generated content construction kit

When I was a lad in the early 80s, Sensible software released ‘Shoot ’em up Construction Kit’ for the Commodore 64. It was crude, it was simple, but it allowed people like me, with a creative idea, to at least attempt to make something move and have something else shoot at it, without having to think about programming.

I was in the pub the other night with a couple of pals. One of this group had a really good idea, something simple, fun, easy and niche. It needed a database behind it… I’ve got an idea that needs a database behind it. Where’s the bogger/typepad/wordpress of databases? Is there one? I’ve got ideas, but pages like this scare me!

So I’m asking any data base software dev person out there to make something that other people can pin there ideas on to.

It should have:

User registration
Ability to upload text, images, links, audio and video
Calendar function
Geo function
Search

So, if there’s a database techie guy out there who’s also interested in food and/or music please get in touch, There’s some money in it.

2 Responses to “user generated content construction kit”


  1. 1 Alex Andronov May 29, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    The answer is there is a “Blogger of Databases” that it’s recently been launched and it’s “frickin’ awesome” or “actually quite good” depending on how you feel about these things. It’s called DabbleDB. Check out the 7 minute demo – it’s not scary I promise.

    And yes we must be neighbours ish found you though the LondonBloggers thing. And rather scarily I almost went to the Rodrigo Y Gabriela gig, but sadly had a prior engagement.

    I also love music and food, and I’m a techie so I may be interested even though I have a lack of time.

  2. 2 Alex Andronov May 29, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    “that it’s” should have been of course “that’s”


Leave a Reply

This blog is no longer being updated

I've left it here for historical purposes. Please visit my new blog at www.foodjournalist.co.uk

DISCLAIMER

These are my personal views and not those of Channel 4 or the BBC
May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

