Fabada-bing-fabada-boom!



spanish beans – 1

Originally uploaded by eyedropper.co.uk.

We were in Bilbao a couple of weeks ago, and while there I picked up a conpango, which is a pack containing a morcilla (spanish black pudding) a chorizo and some pancetta.

I didn’t know quite how to use it, hence being perplexed by the woman trying to sell me some dried white beans too. Anyway, upon getting home and a bit of googling, I found a good recipe and the above photo is the result… and oh my god what a result! I cooked them for about 12 hours, on the lowest heat my hob could manage, and this is after 24 hours soaking, so this is a real weekend thing.

They were absolutely amazing.. I kept saying to myself ‘..this is just beans, how can it taste so good!?’ Some other internet sites recommend pricking the chorizo and morcilla so they don’t burst. Here’s a shot after about 3 hours
spanish beans - 2

I think the traditional way to serve them is with the meats separate to the beans, and as a starter. What’s probably not traditional is to eat three platefuls in a row then belly flop onto the couch moaning…

One to make again, only this time when there’s a lot of mouths to feed, but they really were fantastic..Bit gassy the next day mind.

4 Responses to “Fabada-bing-fabada-boom!”


  1. 1 Lee Lee April 15, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    Sounds really delicious – not sure I could wait 12 hours though, plus Gût isn’t allowed that kind of nosh at the moment.

  2. 2 theyedropper April 16, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    the world is small, too small. the blogname, the headblog, the post. I leave in noth of spain near of Bilbao.

  3. 3 eyedropper April 16, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    hahah – too true my spanish/basque/catalan brother/sister*

    * Delete as applicable

  4. 4 theyedropper April 17, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Brother, I leave in A coruña. The european west-side story,jejejeje.


Leave a Reply

This blog is no longer being updated

I've left it here for historical purposes. Please visit my new blog at www.foodjournalist.co.uk

DISCLAIMER

These are my personal views and not those of Channel 4 or the BBC
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

