Kicked out of Skool for being old : Flickr fully moves to Yahoo!

In my Flickr inbox this morning

Dear Old Skool Account-Holding Flickr Member,

On March 15th we’ll be discontinuing the old email-based Flickr sign in system. From that point on, everyone will have to use a Yahoo! ID to sign in to Flickr.

So now I’ve got to get a Yahoo! Account, I’m a bit miffed about this to be honest. Part of me can understand why – these new feature’s better be good! But a part of me thinks it’s the end of an era, that’s it’s going to be all about Yahooy things now. Plus I’m pissed off that eyedropper’s already taken as a Yahoo! ID, that’s my name!

Perhaps the thing I’m most worried about is account deletion because I’ve not logged into Yahoo! for 30 days or whatever.. As a test I logged into yahoo mail using an old user name and password that I used to use in the late 90s and probably last logged into in mid 2005.

The result:

Why is my account inactive?
Yahoo! Mail deactivated your mail account because:
• You have not logged into your mail account during the past four months; or
• You have requested that Yahoo! Mail deactivate your account.

What does this mean?
• All email messages, folders, attachments and preferences have been deleted and cannot be recovered.
• All messages sent to XXXXXXXXX@yahoo.co.uk are being returned to the sender.
• You can still use your Yahoo! ID to access other registered services on Yahoo!.

Ok so that’s only email and it’s four months now, but what if it becomes one month? And what if I go travelling for a four months? If they don’t want old emails clogging up their servers they’re sure not going to want 1000s of images. I used to use Yahoo messenger, I still use MSN messenger, but I never use either of their email services as I can get that elsewhere. Flickr just used to be about photos, now I’m not so sure, the Private Frazer in me suddenly worried that all his photos might be dooooooomed. We’ll see.

2 Responses to “Kicked out of Skool for being old : Flickr fully moves to Yahoo!”


  1. 1 Lee Harker February 1, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    I got the same email and now I’m making a copy of all my Flickr images and backing them up to CD.

    It’s a trust thing. I no longer trust them. In fact I haven’t for ages; this latest email just reminded me.

    Sure it’s slightly tin-foil hat but… I know what large media corps are like.

    Sooner or later the groovy 2.0 Flickr kids are going meet a Yahoo! beancounter who is going to decide on a “unified infrastructure” based on a “cost-benefit analysis”.

    In fact, it’s probably already happened.

    Add that to Yahoo!’s blithe disregard for user data on any of their other services and… I’d start making a back-up too Mr Dropper.

    http://sharph.net/flickr/ will make a script you can run on your shiny new Mac.

  2. 2 eyedropper February 1, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    the app didn’t work lee lee, it said

    #!/bin/bash

    Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/sharp/www/flickr/index.php on line 28

    so i might try this
    http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=147249


Leave a Reply

This blog is no longer being updated

I've left it here for historical purposes. Please visit my new blog at www.foodjournalist.co.uk

DISCLAIMER

These are my personal views and not those of Channel 4 or the BBC
February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

