I quit… Leaving the BBC

NEWSFLASH! Yesterday I handed in my resignation to my dept manager and officially resigned as Picture Editor for BBC Future Media & Technology (!) Tonight was the office Christmas do and so I took the opportunity to tell all my team and fellow members of staff…. Most replies were ‘I’m happy for you, but gutted for the rest of us’ which was nice.

So what will I be doing? Well, I’m off to Channel4 for more money, a better commute, a better working location and more interesting projects. As some of you may know I’ve spent the past 12 months trying to get a pan media project commissioned, I got it right to the top, after months of meetings, talking, thinking, writing, research and hard work, but it’s stalled somewhat due, not to the quality of the idea, but to the internal political flux that comes from being in the BBC. More on the history and fall out of this idea later, but as for now, I can’t wait another 12 months so me and my head full of other ideas are off to Channel4 where hopefully they can come to fruition.

6 Responses to “I quit… Leaving the BBC”


  1. 1 Alan Connor December 13, 2006 at 10:32 am

    Good luck, and keep us posted here, won’t you?

  2. 2 Fraser December 13, 2006 at 10:32 am

    Dude, I too am saddened by this news, but also happy that you are following your dream. I wish you the best of luck, and I’m confident that with your ideas you’ll go far.

  3. 3 Frankie Roberto December 13, 2006 at 5:39 pm

    …and the BBC loses yet another talented individual.

    Good luck in the new job though!

  4. 4 Toby Bradbury December 14, 2006 at 11:45 am

    Good luck Andrew!

  5. 5 IanM December 18, 2006 at 3:45 pm

    Nice one Andrew, rumour has it that you heard I was leaving and handed in your notice too. After all, what would the morning bus ride be like without our relentless arguments about Apple.

    Who’s leelee going to talk to about his lavish technological (and largely theoretical) purchases now?


Leave a Reply

This blog is no longer being updated

I've left it here for historical purposes. Please visit my new blog at www.foodjournalist.co.uk

DISCLAIMER

These are my personal views and not those of Channel 4 or the BBC
December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

