Sparrowhawk, pigeons and jays

This morning I pulled up the blind of the bedroom window to see a Sparrowhawk ripping apart a Wood Pigeon in my back garden – cool!

Two Jays were making a hell of a noise trying the scare it (or me) off. I managed to get quite close to the Falcon with my D70 (max focal length – 70mm) Eventually it flew up to the tree and waited for me to grab a quick snap of it’s breakfast, before running off to work. Upper Norwood gets it’s name from the ‘Great North Wood’ and the whole area was once covered in woodland. Good to see that wildlife is still there, and nice to see birds of prey rather than the usual fox.

0 Responses to “Sparrowhawk, pigeons and jays”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

This blog is no longer being updated

I've left it here for historical purposes. Please visit my new blog at www.foodjournalist.co.uk

DISCLAIMER

These are my personal views and not those of Channel 4 or the BBC
September 2006
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

