Flash on the homepage, Doctor Who Exclusives, and street crime…what a day

A mini mile stone has been reached in my BBC career this week…

yes, after three years and two redesigns we’ve finally got some flash on the homepage. This was talked about waaaaaaay back in 2002 by me, the hit man and her. Look, here’s some dev work to prove it, shark.swf & liar.swf. In a way, a lot of why we’d want Flash has been taken up by the rotorvator, and everyone loves that.

As usual, Martin’s got all the details, God I’m going to have to write properly about what actually goes on behind the homepage when he goes…

Anyway, a lot of the point are valid, however I feel if we’d have done something really ‘FLASHY’ we’d have set a high expectation… and the fact that the record co. only gave Radio1 and me TWO images! You can’t really do much with two images really. ‘sides we’re saving going really flashy for something ‘special’.

My favourite reply was one that said something like “when the images for this current homepage started they were crisp, now they’re all crap and jpeggy’ or something… sigh, everyone’s a critic.

Well, balls to flash, because today I was working with that ol’ pre Millennium favourite, the animated gif.. woo-hoo. We did a sneaky ‘doctor who exclusive’ in the homepage banner.. see here.

Well after about 20 mins, the Outpost Gallifrey message boards were aflame with rumour my fave being “bet they’re launching an advent calendar” – yeah because that would be a good thing to launch on the 2nd of December. heh-heh. So what is coming tomorrow? Check back at 12ish tomorrow…. Also the article about what we did for the series one finale went live today on The Cutting Archive, have a read.

Also according to the daily brief, complaints for my marketing and promotions colleagues ‘heads’ trail have topped 800, with licence fee payers seemingly trying to out do each other in shocked reaction, we’ve had ‘violently sick’ ”Absolutely horrible’ and ‘made me kill my family’.. actually that last one’s not true. Mind you so far in my time at the beeb we’ve had dismembered fingers, ear’s growing on trees, rubber faces that peel off, faces on monkeys and now mini heads…

Anyway, talking of scary things around 10pm tonight I heard a woman screaming outside my house, some guy was mugging her, right there in the street! I ran down and made sure she was all right, then called the police. The guy got away but the police are with her and out looking for him now.

I’m pleased to say that lots of residents came out to see if she was ok and one pizza delivery guy even went a ride round on his motorbike looking for him. Nice to know that. It doesn’t look like he’s violent, but it seems he only attacks women and is scared quite easily, mind you, he’s done it before

1 Response to “Flash on the homepage, Doctor Who Exclusives, and street crime…what a day”



  1. 1 currybetdotnet Trackback on December 6, 2005 at 12:51 pm

Leave a Reply

This blog is no longer being updated

I've left it here for historical purposes. Please visit my new blog at www.foodjournalist.co.uk

DISCLAIMER

These are my personal views and not those of Channel 4 or the BBC
December 2005
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

