Invasion! Daleks take over the homepage

The culmination of ‘Whomepage’…

I proposed this two weeks ago, in my initial design the Dalek filled the entire page… but over time we realised that certain things still had to be present. And so I designed this, which I think removes lesser useful things, yet leaves plenty of page to be useful. Search is still there, the News and Sport box, Where I live, the TV & Radio boxes, and the all important childrens box, as they’re very icon led. So what’s gone? Well, sub catagories, the TV pick, radio & TV channels, and the marketing footer. And the page is still pretty light, I’ve just loaded it up on my laptop via my mobile, worse connection speeds than dial up, and it loaded pretty fast.

Couple of other things to add. On the top left had corner, there’s a link to return to the standard homepage… we’ve got click-tracking on that, so we’ll see how many people use it; and secondly, right down the bottom is a link actually asking people what they think of this treatment? Or if you want to comment, here’s the link We’ll see on Monday what comes back…

Now I’ve just got to wait patiently till 7pm..

5 Responses to “Invasion! Daleks take over the homepage”


  1. 1 matt jones June 18, 2005 at 5:24 pm

    My first thought was how tricky it would be if there was a real alien invasion tonight and you had to replace the dalek with a splash page about that news! Excellent!!!

  2. 2 Chris McEvoy June 18, 2005 at 8:46 pm

    Loved the homepage, but it’s a bit worrying that they couldn’t put the old one back without breaking bbc.co.uk

    BBC homepage exterminated by daleks
    http://usability.typepad.com/confusability/2005/06/bbc_homepage_ex.html

  3. 3 Kaz June 20, 2005 at 2:53 pm

    Love the look of this homepage layout – I actually prefer it! Thanks for posting it, as I couldn’t access it live. 🙂

    Wonderful to see the Beeb go all out on this, I hope it’s a sign of things to come making great drama into ‘event TV’!

  4. 4 eyedropper June 20, 2005 at 10:32 pm

    Thanks for the screen grab and post Chris… What can I say? The Web-gretchin has been flogged. Seriously, it was a bit of a technical error, and it was fixed asap, I/we really appreciate you recording/commenting on it, after all, it’s your BBC too.

  5. 5 Chris McEvoy June 21, 2005 at 7:58 pm

    It’s good to know that even the BBC make mistakes sometimes. I hope this doesn’t prevent more experiments with the homepage.


Leave a Reply

This blog is no longer being updated

I've left it here for historical purposes. Please visit my new blog at www.foodjournalist.co.uk

DISCLAIMER

These are my personal views and not those of Channel 4 or the BBC
June 2005
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

